Prof. Isabella Zaniletti

Congratulation to Dr. Isabella Zaniletti for being selected by the Arts and Science Student Council to receive 2018 Arts and Science Purple Chalk Award in honor of her excellence as an instructor!   This is a great recognition for her hard work!  

Prof. Chris Wikle

Prof. Chris Wikle

New Chair:  Effective June 1, 2018, Chris Wikle will be serving as Chair of the Department of Statistics.


Matt Kane breaks down data at a Missouri baseball practice Friday at Taylor Stadium. In a volunteer role with the baseball team, Kane works alongside the coaching staff to incorporate analytics.

Professor and Chair Dongchu Sun

Professor and Chair Dongchu Sun

Professor and Chair Dongchu Sun Named Purdue University Distinguished Science Alumnus for 2017.

Prof. Kangwon Seo joined our department from Fall 2017 as an Assistant Professor. He has a joint appointment with Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering and Statistics. Welcome to MU Prof. Seo.

KOMU News: COLUMBIA — The University of Missouri became one of more than 30 U.S. institutions to host a DataFest competition since 2015 on Friday.

Holan, Wikle and Cressie

Professors Scott Holan, Christopher Wikle, and Noel Cressie are co-awardees of the American Statistical Association's 2017 Statistical Partnership Among Academe, Industry, and Government Award (SPAIG Award).


Lydia Lucchesi (Sr. undergraduate, on right) awarded honorable mention for her poster presentation on uncertainty visualization at the undergraduate research symposium. Over 300 undergrads that participated in the event. Professor Chris Wikle (middle) awarded the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award.

Congratulations to Prof. Chris Wikle and Lydia Lucchesi (Senior undergraduate student) for their recent awards.

Prof. Chris Wikle

Prof. Chris Wikle

Chris Wikle, professor of statistics, has been named a University of Missouri Curators' Distinguished Professor. Wikle received his PhD from Iowa State University in 1996.